Indian embassy in Madagascar pays tribute to Rabindranath Tagore


Antananarivo [Madagascar], Could 9 (ANI): On the event of the 161st beginning anniversary of Nobel laureate Rabindranath Tagore, the Indian embassy in Madagascar held celebrations as a part of Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav (AKAM) whereas additionally organising the sixteenth Version of its month-to-month literary programme LaLitTana.

The occasion was attended by Francois Rajaoson, President of Malagasy Academy, Dr Nalisoa Ravalitera, Vice President of the Malagasy Academy, and Hobiana, the Honorary President of the Union of Writers of Madagascar and literary circle Havatsa Upem Arivonimamo, poets college college students and the members of the Indian group, the Indian Embassy stated in a press launch.

“Rabindranath Tagore was an amazing poet, author and artist. He was the primary non-European to win the world’s most prestigious ‘Nobel Prize for Literature’ in 1913. He was one of many architects of recent India and performed an important function within the Indian cultural renaissance,” India’s Ambassador to Madagascar stated Abhay Kumar stated.

The Indian Ambassador additionally shared his expertise with the viewers when he delivered a lecture on the Malagasy Academy final yr, the President of the Academy Francois Rajaoson instructed him that Madagascar’s nationwide poet Jean-Joseph Rabearivelo was impressed by the poetry of Rabindranath Tagore. Later Ambassador discovered that Jean Joseph Rabearivelo had talked about Tagore in his poem no.15 from his poetry assortment ‘Translated from the Night time’.

On this event, floral tributes have been supplied to Rabindranath Tagore by the Ambassador, the President of the Malagasy Academy, poets and the members of the Indian diaspora. A brief film on the lifetime of Rabindranath Tagore was additionally screened.

The well-known poem of Rabindranath Tagore ‘The place the thoughts is with out concern’ from ‘Gitanjali’ was recited by Abhay Kumar, in Malagasy by Dr Nalisoa Ravalitera and in French by Soambinintsoa Andrianary.

On this event, poets from Madagascar who participated within the sixteenth Version of LaLitTana included Faribolana Sandratra like Haintso Nirina, Rija A-Jonah, Rakemba, Lova Santatra, Tolotra Arinandrianina, RaNirhy, Zara Ainga, Ratsimba Ny Dina and Ratsimbazafy Heriarilala Andriamamonjy. (ANI)


Back To Top